My little town blues, they are melting away…

Boy, Frank nailed it right on the head with this song.

I’ve been here for about 3 weeks now and I fall more in love each day. Things are far from perfect and I am a long way from making the MTA my bitch, but I love it. Perhaps it is the fact that I come from Orange County, land of stagnation, or perhaps it is because the energy here is palpable… but I’m smitten.

I’m not a huge Radio City fan, but the picture is kinda cool.

My life in Orange County was dreadfully boring. I lived alone and there were stretches of days where I didn’t speak to another human being (I say human being because I had many conversations with my furry soulmate, Walter). Everything was the same… day in and day out. Same people, same houses, same restaurants. And though I may be paranoid in saying so, it felt that because I was unmarried and childless there was no place for me. I was excluded from social gatherings and made to feel much older than I am because I was not on the breeding route. Again, could be a paranoid thought… but when things start happening more than once, you can’t help but see patterns.

But anyway… New York wasn’t always on my radar. I didn’t have dreams of coming to the big city to “make it.” I just knew I wanted to get the hell out of the OC and NYC just kind of happened. But I’m glad it did. I’m truly in awe every day. I walk around and can’t believe I’m here. Apparently I’m supposed to play it cool like it’s not a big deal, but I can hardly contain my excitement sometimes. Every corner feels new… there’s so much to see and explore. And seeing as how I’m still without work, I have time to wander. I’ve gone to a few touristy places and covered my favorite for Broke-Ass Stuart.

I said before that the energy is palpable. And it’s true. There’s so much life here. So many different kinds of people. So many things to see and do. And though I haven’t been on the receiving end yet, opportunity is everywhere. NYC has a history of being a place to come and work hard and see your dreams come true and now I feel like I can be one of those people. I feel like a complete cliche and I friggin love it.

So, finally, I am proud to say that I have officially traded my oranges for apples. (Ah, now it all makes sense, right?) I’m starting fresh and full of motivation and ready for more fiber. Get it? Fiber? Big Apple? You got it.

 

Photo credit: Craig Smith
Blog title song: “New York, New York” by Frank Sinatra

About Quincey Trigillo

Born in the midwest, raised in California, and fortified in New York City. View all posts by Quincey Trigillo

2 responses to “My little town blues, they are melting away…

  • rnonamission

    OMG!!! I am not sure even what to say… Read my blog titled “It Dawned on Me”. I lived in NYC for three years and the day I left I still felt the way you do today! Interesting, my move 2 months ago was from NYC to NorCal… I so miss the City: the excitement, the tension, the diversity, the freaks, the activities and mostly I miss being n the City I loved each and every day of my short three years amongst its steel and concrete! Have an amazing time and eat street meat on 53rd and 6th!

Leave a comment