Losing concentration, losing motivation, losing ground…

So, I haven’t written in a long time. I have sat down to write about a hundred times in the last couple of months… but this strange anxiety has kept me from clicking on the link to WordPress. I’ve definitely had this problem before… and too much time passes and I lose momentum. And then I lose inspiration. And then the doubt sets in.

I don’t know what it will take for me to work my ass off at this. I do know that my head is full. And I KNOW that getting so many of these thoughts out is useful to me… (and hopefully useful to others). But fear is a motherfucker. And though it may not always seem like it, I’m gripped with fear quite often.

But I talked to a wonderful friend of mine last night. She also has a blog and has been writing more lately. She mentioned that she checks my blog often and has noticed a lack of new work. I felt embarrassed. I felt frustrated. I felt like a fraud. Not like I’m calling myself a writer by any stretch… but this is something I want and something I love and I’m letting it fall to the wayside.

Chrissy said that she’s setting aside time every day to write… a piece of advice I had received from another dear friend (also a writer) a while back. It’s not always going to be great work, but it creates the habit. Which is what I need. Hearing this feedback and advice to my face last night definitely sparked something. And that’s why I’m here today. And will hopefully be here more often.

As I’ve said before, I am not going to make any promises. I will be making more of an effort for now… and I plan to expand my writing into fiction (yeah, you won’t be seeing any of that any time soon). Some stuff will be published here while some may be tucked away for other projects. But over the next couple of weeks, I’m hoping to nail down a writing schedule that works for me… and actually stick to it.

Blog song title: “Let’s Talk Turkey” by Ima Robot

About Quincey Trigillo

A little over three years ago, I moved from the confines of Orange County, California to take a bite out of the Big Apple. Every day is an adventure and this is where I will attempt to write about it all. I love sports and Star Wars and Doctor Who and rock music and New York and traveling and being outdoors... and other stuff. View all posts by Quincey Trigillo

Leave a Reply

