I longed for this to take me, I longed for my release…

As I previously mentioned, the timing of this trip is pretty much perfect.

I don’t want to get into too much detail… yet. But I’ve been in this incredible habit of getting involved with the wrong guys… unavailable, too slow to act, liars, live in Brooklyn… and right before I left, I feel like things got so overwhelming. Too many balls in the air. (Zing.)

As I boarded my plane in NYC, I was a tad emotional. I mean, the gravity of the situation was hitting me what with the whole traveling for the first time thing. But I also felt on the verge of some catharsis.

Though this trip was planned long before my personal life got so… hectic, I can’t help but feel that I’m escaping… or running away from things. But there’s a tremendous amount of relief in that. I need time… I need space… I need to feel disconnected a bit.

I’m on my second day in Berlin and while phone connectivity would be nice for finding my way around, I am rather enjoying being completely on my own and detached from the world. While my goal of this trip was never to get out and see all the sites, I’m feeling super ok with just hanging out at my hostel for now. For now.

1173802_10151568214531400_395662522_n

Hallo Berlin

Blog song title: “Leave” by R.E.M.
Photo credit: me

About Quincey Trigillo

A little over three years ago, I moved from the confines of Orange County, California to take a bite out of the Big Apple. Every day is an adventure and this is where I will attempt to write about it all. I love sports and Star Wars and Doctor Who and rock music and New York and traveling and being outdoors... and other stuff. View all posts by Quincey Trigillo

Leave a Reply

