Breaking the rules

I’ve broken a lot of rules lately.

The main one is with myself and this blog. I set out to keep a records of sorts of my new life in the big city. But somewhere I lost my way.

Yes, I am enjoying myself and I have enjoyed writing about these new experiences… and really, I originally set out to write just for me… to have a record of this amazing transition. Then I decided to put it out there for people to see – and I got some great feedback which pushed me to keep writing and keep sharing. But, as I observed in my last blog, I seem to have let the heart and soul fall out of this whole thing.

I hate making excuses… especially in writing. What’s the point? I can’t say exactly what happened to cause this change because I don’t really know. I have definitely become more self-centered and have gotten too in my head about things. And that’s going to change.

I’m still planning to write as often as I can… I’m still planning to travel and write about that (though I’m not crowdfunding anymore and I’m pushing my trip to August/September so I can save more money and get cheaper flights)… But I’m going to work to put the heart and soul back in.

I’m a pretty self-aware person… but somehow I let this run away from me and it’s time I wrangled it back in.

So I apologize to you, dear Reader, for misleading you in any way and for not really being myself. I’m ready to break some of these habits and rules… and keep reinventing.

 

Blog song title: None… that’s another rule I’m breaking.

About Quincey Trigillo

A little over three years ago, I moved from the confines of Orange County, California to take a bite out of the Big Apple. Every day is an adventure and this is where I will attempt to write about it all. I love sports and Star Wars and Doctor Who and rock music and New York and traveling and being outdoors... and other stuff. View all posts by Quincey Trigillo

Leave a Reply

