Could you take my picture… ’cause I won’t remember…

Ah, the selfie. The photo taken at arms length of yourself. The apex of narcissim and self-promotion. And the thing I need to start practicing.

Since I’ll be traveling alone when I go to Europe this summer, I’ll need to get in selfie mode if I want to record any evidence that I am, in fact, abroad. Also, I’ve made it a recent goal to include more pictures in these posts. I know how much you all have been dying to see my adorable face more often. However, I really struggle with the selfie.

photo

Yikes. I’m scrrrrrd.

I see people all the time around the city taking shots of themselves. Some people are shameless about it… mugging it up for their own iPhone as if they are smiling for a dear friend. And I love when they do this on the subway. I’ve even see people kissy/duck facing in selfies on the subway… absolutely amazing. Some people are a little more guarded and snap a quick pic without taking much care for posing. I definitely fall into that second category. I prefer the “look like I’m checking my phone while walking” method.

metshat

Not smiling for fear of bringing attention to the fact that I’m taking a picture of myself.

I really don’t care what other people think of me. Especially strangers… so why is it so difficult for me to blantantly practice the art of the selfie in public? I mean, I’ve been in some pretty cool scenes where a picture would have been awesome to have. And I know I’m going to see some fantastic things on my travels… and I want to be in the picture!

I guess the hope is that I’m going to meet some cool people along the way who will be willing to take my picture when the opportunities present themselves. Until then, if you see me smiling for my own camera… don’t laugh.

Blog song title: “Take a Picture” by Filter
Photo credits: Me, of course… with my iPhone.

Please visit my crowdfunding site and help me travel and write my book… every tiny little bit helps! Seriously!

About Quincey Trigillo

A little over three years ago, I moved from the confines of Orange County, California to take a bite out of the Big Apple. Every day is an adventure and this is where I will attempt to write about it all. I love sports and Star Wars and Doctor Who and rock music and New York and traveling and being outdoors... and other stuff. View all posts by Quincey Trigillo

Leave a Reply

