Recently discovered and I’m learning about you…

One of my favorite things about New York is that you could potentially go out every night and never go to the same place twice. This goes for dining and drinking.

However, I am a creature of habit. And I am a big fan of being a “regular.” As the song goes, “Sometimes you wanna go where everybody knows your name.” Since I moved here, I’ve frequented a handful of places enough that I know many of the people who work there and subsequently get greeted with hugs or kisses on the cheek. I love these places. Part of what brings me back is the friendly service, good conversation and in most places, delicious food. And of course, comfort in the familiar.

Lately, I’ve been feeling the need to branch out. A couple of weeks ago, I found myself wanting to go out but nobody to go with… so I went out alone (to a bar I had been to before, yes… but just once) and I ended up having a great time. I bellied up to the bar and struck up interesting conversations with a series of random people. Obviously, this is not the first time this has happened to me, but every now and then I need to shake things up and remind myself how much I love just going out and meeting people.

I need to keep being a tourist in my own city. Living in a city like New York and not taking advantage of ALL it has to offer is just plain wasteful. I certainly don’t shy away from going places by myself… but it is fun to discover new places and things with another person. I’m all about the shared experiences… so come on out with me… let’s go do something different…

 

Blog song title: “New” by No Doubt

About Quincey Trigillo

A little over three years ago, I moved from the confines of Orange County, California to take a bite out of the Big Apple. Every day is an adventure and this is where I will attempt to write about it all. I love sports and Star Wars and Doctor Who and rock music and New York and traveling and being outdoors... and other stuff. View all posts by Quincey Trigillo

Leave a Reply

