Lucky ones are we ’til it’s over…

I don’t want to get married.

I’m not in a relationship at the moment… not even seeing someone… this is just a general statement. And it doesn’t come from a bitter “I’m single” place either. I never want to get married… and I’m pretty sure I never wanted to.

This isn’t because I don’t believe in love. I totally believe in love. I’ve been in love. But I just don’t know if I believe in the lasting power of marriage. Or relationships. Yeah, here’s where I start sounding bitter. But here’s the thing, I really don’t feel bitter. I just feel realistic. For me.

Recently, I had a conversation with a couple of friends about relationships and dating and someone misunderstood me when I talked about what I wanted (this seems to happen to me frequently). If I really sat and thought about spending all of my time with one person, it sounds fine… to a point… but it’s been my experience that feelings fade and change and shift… and it’s heartbreaking for one or both parties. Yes, I know that sounds pessimistic. So here’s what I told them I was looking for: I want someone who wants me.

I mean, who doesn’t want to be chosen? Who doesn’t want to be wanted? It’s a great feeling. Out of all the people in the world, someone is choosing YOU to spend their time with. Sounds fantastic. Beyond that, I don’t know what I want. Isn’t it enough to feel “chosen?”

Sure, the idea of someone choosing me forever sounds romantic enough… but I don’t know how I feel about that… because conversely, I don’t know if I could choose someone else for forever. And that’s really what this all boils down to… that I don’t think I’m capable of the long term. Sure, I can easily get caught up in my own feelings… but eventually, my intellect takes over and I come back down to earth.

And besides, why is this something I have to want? Why do I have to play by the RomCom rules? Why can’t I feel the way I want to feel without others inserting their incorrect opinions where they don’t belong?

(Side note: If there’s one thing I absolutely hate in this world, it’s someone telling me what I’m feeling… even if it comes from a good place. I’m sorry, but since when were you a mind reader? It just reinforces the idea that, while I may seem like an open book, there are very few people on this planet that know the real me.)

Look, I’m still open to possibility. I don’t look at every guy as the potential be-all and end-all of relationships… and nobody wants to get hurt (with every wound, I close off just a bit more)… but I am still open… I just don’t feel the need to want what others tell me I should want.

And right now, I don’t want to get married.

Blog song title: ” Marry Song” by Band of Horses

About Quincey Trigillo

A little over three years ago, I moved from the confines of Orange County, California to take a bite out of the Big Apple. Every day is an adventure and this is where I will attempt to write about it all. I love sports and Star Wars and Doctor Who and rock music and New York and traveling and being outdoors... and other stuff. View all posts by Quincey Trigillo

One response to “Lucky ones are we ’til it’s over…

Leave a Reply

