So long my friend… (Part 3)

So, without much ceremony, I logged into Facebook for the first time in 6 days. And you know, I really didn’t miss much.

Sure, I had a few boring moments this week where Facebook could have provided a bit of entertainment… if only for a second. But overall, I didn’t really feel like I was missing out on anything. Did I really think the world would stop turning or something? No. I guess I didn’t have any expectations… but I guess I thought I’d have gotten a more meaningful message out of this experiment…

I had said previously that I wanted to spend time actually connecting with people this week… in person. And that’s pretty much what I did. I went out a couple of times and ended up meeting some new characters. Last night I actually bellied up to a bar by myself and met a handful of people while I was there. No lifelong friendships were made, but I had some decent conversations (and delicious craft beers) and it sure beat sitting at home and checking Facebook while catching up on my Hulu queue.

I do know that I want to keep a bit of a distance from Facebook moving forward… my purpose in taking a week off was because I was getting a bit obsessive and I don’t want to start feeling that anxiety again. Besides, the real world is much more interesting.

 

Blog song title: “Under Cover of Darkness” by the Strokes 

About Quincey Trigillo

A little over three years ago, I moved from the confines of Orange County, California to take a bite out of the Big Apple. Every day is an adventure and this is where I will attempt to write about it all. I love sports and Star Wars and Doctor Who and rock music and New York and traveling and being outdoors... and other stuff. View all posts by Quincey Trigillo

Leave a Reply

