So long my friend…

SO, I’ve decided to take a Facebook sabbatical. Apparently this is a thing. Do a simple Google search and you will see countless articles and blogs – even full websites – dedicated to this relatively new phenomenon. Everyone seems to have a reason to do it… mine is that I simply can’t stay away from it and it feels like a problem. I am constantly checking updates and it has started to make me anxious. I’m not sure why… but it was getting bad. Partly this is because I don’t do much at work… but also because my life has hit a bit of a winter lull.

I did have a similar goal on my 34 before 34 list – #15 Go an entire weekend without the Internet. Frankly, I think this is as close as I’m going to get to that one… especially since about 90% of the time that I am on the Internet, I am Facebooking (oh, anthimeria). I suppose this counts as additional motivation for the break.

And so, somewhere around 8 o’clock this morning, I deleted the app from my phone and posted my final status… at least for a few days. I’m not sure how long I’ll be able to hold out… but I will chart my progress here.

Blog song title: “Under Cover of Darkness” by the Strokes

About Quincey Trigillo

A little over three years ago, I moved from the confines of Orange County, California to take a bite out of the Big Apple. Every day is an adventure and this is where I will attempt to write about it all. I love sports and Star Wars and Doctor Who and rock music and New York and traveling and being outdoors... and other stuff. View all posts by Quincey Trigillo

Leave a Reply

