Baby, it’s cold outside…

When I announced, many moons ago, that I was moving to the east coast I was told by many people how much I would hate the cold. My response was always (and still is) the same… I really like colder weather. Last year didn’t really count because it never really got that cold for too long… and I wasn’t working so the really cold days were spent indoors (either at home or at a bar… yes). But I’m starting to understand the cold weather complaints… and it doesn’t have to do with the mercury falling… it’s that the cold turns people into the BIGGEST assholes.

I do so love the cold… pink cheeks… mittens… cozy sweaters… cozy people. But it seemed like the second that the holidays were over… January 2nd to be exact… people just lost their shit. Yeah, everyone was back to work so the trains were just a bit more crowded than they had been. Perhaps people were still nursing a New Year’s hangover. Maybe they had a shitty Christmas/Hanukkah/Kwanzaa/Festivus/Secular Celebration. Maybe their significant other didn’t get them anything awesome for their holiday of choice. Either way… starting on January 2nd the city turned into Asshole Central. Shoving on trains (more than usual)… sass at work (more than usual)… but just a general cloud of shit hanging over everyone’s heads. It was hard to get through the short work week with so much negative bullshit out there.

Is it because it’s cold and it constricts every sphincter? Is it because the holidays are over and people are blue? Is this what happens every winter? Because if it is, I think bears have the right idea…

However… although I may appear to be a negative person at times… I will look at the bright side – all this shit is going to make the spring SO FUCKING AMAZING. Now I will fully appreciate when the temps creep back into the 50s and 60s… I am already giddy at the thought… as I am sure my fellow sphincter clenching straphangers are.

Until then… Fuck You, Winter… you were really cute at Christmas… but now you’re just being a dick.

Blog title song: everyone’s favorite date rape song… “Baby, It’s Cold Outside” by Dean Martin

About Quincey Trigillo

A little over three years ago, I moved from the confines of Orange County, California to take a bite out of the Big Apple. Every day is an adventure and this is where I will attempt to write about it all. I love sports and Star Wars and Doctor Who and rock music and New York and traveling and being outdoors... and other stuff. View all posts by Quincey Trigillo

One response to “Baby, it’s cold outside…

Leave a Reply

