Non, je ne regrette rien…

One thing that is really important to do as a writer (side note: I don’t necessarily consider myself to BE a writer as far as a defining characteristic… but I am the writer of this blog, so in this case just go with it) is to go back and read past pieces. Frequently. For one, it keeps you from repeating a subject but it also helps to keep your voice fresh but consistent. Look at me like I know what I’m talking about.

ANYWAY, I went back and read past blogs and geez… it’s rough for me to read. Partly this is because I’ve changed so much and some past blogs were coming from a not so great place. But I definitely had (have?) a tendency to sound sentimental, if not straight up maudlin at times. And some of my subject matter… not fantastic.

But if you know me, you know I don’t like apologizing… I will admit when I’m wrong, but if I say or write something that offends or seems silly or is straight up corny… I don’t feel the need to defend it.

I really try hard to not regret anything. Sure, I have those cringe-worthy moments… I’ve written about a few of them… but I have learned to stand by that shit just as much as anything else. I’m human and I do stupid things… sure, I’d like for the smart things to outweigh the stupid, but I learn from everything I do.

As far as my words are concerned… whether it’s a politically charged Facebook status or a drunken text or a schmaltzy blog… sorry I’m not sorry.

 

Blog song title: “Non, Je Ne Regrette Rien” by Edith Piaf

About Quincey Trigillo

A little over three years ago, I moved from the confines of Orange County, California to take a bite out of the Big Apple. Every day is an adventure and this is where I will attempt to write about it all. I love sports and Star Wars and Doctor Who and rock music and New York and traveling and being outdoors... and other stuff. View all posts by Quincey Trigillo

Leave a Reply

