Ch-ch-ch-changes…

So I need to make a little tweak to my 34 before 34 list…

“20) Go to the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade – simple enough… of course it would mean not being with family – unless they want to come HERE… Thanksgiving in NYC sounds pretty awesome to me… And really, for this, I would settle for going and seeing the balloons being inflated…”

I typically spend Thanksgiving with family (as stated above) and had planned to go to Connecticut to be with my sister and her family. However, due to a not so great (really, just terrible) circumstance, I ended up staying here in the city. Not so bad as I ended up having a really nice day. Also, I decided I would really make the best of it and cross #20 off my list.

That is, until I rode on the subway on Wednesday afternoon.

On Wednesday, the public (read: EVERYONE AND THEIR MOTHER) has access to see the famous balloons being inflated for Thursday’s parade in Central Park. And I determined after experiencing the crazy tourist traffic on the uptown C train that I would rather skip the event and prevent myself from a potential violent outburst. (And from what I hear, the parade isn’t quite worth it either… best to view on TV where it belongs).

So I retract #20 as it currently stands and propose a new goal. Of course, it must be said that it was actually difficult to compile the original list (make your own list and you’ll see what I mean)… but once I got going, it was hard to leave things off. So I’m bringing an alternate in from off the bench… the new #20:

Eat raw oysters.

Since moving to NYC and hearing people gush about these, er, gushy mollusks I have been wanting to give them a go. Now if you know anything about me, you know I grew up an extremely picky eater. And much of that consternation came from icky textures. Well, it doesn’t get ickier than something that looks like gray phlegm. BUT, it won’t kill me to try one… hell, I may even like them. (Doubtful).

(Also, it should be noted that this is cheating just a bit… I actually have plans to go eat oysters in the very distant future… like, tomorrow… stay tuned for a full report). 

Blog song title: “Changes” by David Bowie

About Quincey Trigillo

A little over three years ago, I moved from the confines of Orange County, California to take a bite out of the Big Apple. Every day is an adventure and this is where I will attempt to write about it all. I love sports and Star Wars and Doctor Who and rock music and New York and traveling and being outdoors... and other stuff. View all posts by Quincey Trigillo

Leave a Reply

