Lookin’ for love in all the wrong places… (part 3)

I’m seriously beginning to think that I’m going on all these dates purely out of boredom. I’m still jobless and so somehow I’ve made online dating my job. This is not going well…

So where was I? Oh, Suitor #4. He was… interesting. Much like the last couple of guys, he got to the asking out quite quickly as well. But before meeting in person, he wanted to Skype. I was super hesitant, but he was very convincing and I figured if he was a total freak, I’d at least know not to go out with him and I’d have a good story out of it. I made him swear not to be naked and then gave him my screen name.

The conversation was pretty normal – kind of like a first date. But then things got kinda weird. I can’t be sure, because Skype can be a bit odd (picture and sound)… but it’s possible that at one point he was jerking off. Right. He kept talking through it and I even asked what he was doing. He didn’t seem fazed by this so I chalked it up to bad audio or something (yeah, gross).

I agreed to meet him the next night for coffee (seriously, why do these guys all want to get coffee?). We were going to be in public and if he turned out to be a creep who jerked off on Skype to total strangers, then I’d bolt. Remember, I’m forcing myself to go out with people. And I’m learning around this time that there are slim pickins out there…

So we met at a coffee shop around dinner time. I’m thinking that food has got to be somewhere on the agenda so I’m going with the flow. Well, he orders a hot chocolate and I order an iced tea and that was it. Oh, and did I mention he was a total asshole? And not in that cocky self-assured way… in that, “wow, you’re a total asshole who really likes to tell me I’m wrong” way.

We leave and I’m still thinking dinner is coming up… and we end up at his building. And to this I said OH HELL NO. I can’t believe he thought he was going to get me upstairs after that shitty date. And he couldn’t believe I was saying no. I ended up leaving the date about 45 minutes after it started… and proceeded to walk 20 blocks to clear my head.

Suitor #5 didn’t seem to be a suitor at all… he just wanted to “hang out” which I took to mean as friends for some reason. We met for drinks (hallelujah) and got along well enough to turn it into dinner. Unfortunately, I’m not attracted to him at all and I don’t feel like I need to force that. I left the date thinking we might hang out again, but purely as friends.

Suitor #6 – the latest – was actually a guy I met at a bar. He was drunk and tried to get me to go home with him, but he did make me laugh in the process. I said no and he left. But then I saw that he viewed my online dating profile a few days later, so I sent him a message. It was a funny coincidence and thought it might be worth looking into. We got drinks (lots of them) and flirted (heavily) and the date ended with… well, it ended just fine. I’m not sure if I want to see him again, but if I end up at a bar with him again, I know how the night will end. And that’s all I’ll say about that.

Six dates. Six guys. And two more planned over the next week. I’m not expecting much. It has become apparent to me that if I want a date for an evening, I can get it pretty easily. But that gets old. Especially when somewhere in the middle of all of this I developed a crush on a friend (oh gee, someone fun that I don’t feel that I have to perform for). And since I have no idea what I’m doing when it comes to guys, I found a way to make that not work out. Oh well.

So I don’t know what’s next. I do think I’m going to have to cool the online thing for a while… it’s exhausting and seems kind of pointless. I wouldn’t say I’m looking for love at this point… I’m just looking for some connection. Make me laugh, I’ll make you laugh. Care about me, I’ll care about you. And then, you know, let’s make out.

Photo credit: glamour.com and someecards.com
Blog title song: same as the last 2…

About Quincey Trigillo

A little over three years ago, I moved from the confines of Orange County, California to take a bite out of the Big Apple. Every day is an adventure and this is where I will attempt to write about it all. I love sports and Star Wars and Doctor Who and rock music and New York and traveling and being outdoors... and other stuff. View all posts by Quincey Trigillo

4 responses to “Lookin’ for love in all the wrong places… (part 3)

  • Gantzy Pantz

    Hi Q! Just started reading your blog. Love your writing style and candor and am happy to hear that you are settling into NY. Good luck with all the frogs and toads out there… at least one of your dates had a happy ending. 😉

  • howtoonlinedate

    great blog! keep going, keep going… there are crazies both on and offline :o)

    • Quincey Trigillo

      Thanks! I’m still really unsure of the online thing… seems to be a whole lot of people just looking for hookups… and like I said, that gets old REALLY fast!

      • howtoonlinedate

        dont i know it! lots of pervies out there… sometimes where u are subscribed makes a difference too. but in the end, usually guys are all about the “hook up”, in their blood i guess!

Leave a Reply

