Lookin’ for love in all the wrong places… (part 2)

OK, in my last post I mentioned that I had begun online dating. I had also mentioned that I kind of have to force myself to go out with people. What this has come to mean is that some of the dates are not so good. I will warn you now, some audiences may deem some of these stories to be inappropriate… so if you aren’t comfortable with that sort of stuff, just stop reading here. Of course, I’m not going to get too detailed and all names (and distinguishing information) will be changed to protect the innocent… or not so innocent as the case may be.

So my first date seemed very promising. We had exchanged witty messages and then flirty texts. It seemed like it was going to be a great date. I was nervous, but excited. I got to the restaurant first and when he walked in I learned one of the online dating cliches – he didn’t look much like his picture. And then it got worse. The conversation was very forced and that witty spark that existed in our virtual conversations was nowhere to be found. And not to be mean… but he was kinda dumb. I’m fairly convinced that someone else was sending his messages for him.

Either way, I was turned off the online dating thing for a while because of this…

When I decided to give it another go, I found myself stuck in pen pal status with most guys. Lots of messages, but no asking out. I feel like I’m learning this about guys (or I guess I always knew)… they RARELY take action. I thought this would change as I got older… but not so much. And then I feel like I’m being too aggressive if I make the first move… so what am I supposed to do? Why is this so complicated?

This might be why I was drawn to Suitor #2. He asked me out within a couple of messages. HOWEVER… he also offered me pictures of his junk almost immediately.  Sadly, he would not be the last to make that offer. I really don’t get it… why do guys like to do this?!  Women are not as visual as men. And seriously, dicks are funny looking. But you know, I thought it would be kinda funny (and it still is)… so I told him to send ’em on over.

I know how it makes me look, but I guess I like to give people the benefit of the doubt (my downfall?). He did seem very nice and he wanted to meet for afternoon coffee (boo). And you know, he was very nice… and super boring… and again… a little dumb. But of course, he was the one who sent pictures of his wang to a total stranger. Hmmm… Needless to say, I will not be seeing him again.

Suitor #3 seemed nice and harmless… a good palate cleanser after Mr. Dick Pic. This guy seriously misrepresented himself – I met him at a coffee shop and walked right by him because I didn’t recognize him. Boo again.

He was very sweet, but way too shy. I was amazing on this date though… because I knew I was out of his league (sad, but true). The actual activity of the date (where we went and all – remember, I’m not giving details) was great too… would have been very sweet and romantic if I had any bit of attraction to him at all. So another one that would not repeat.

This is really where the forcing came into play. I was only 3 dates in and I was frustrated. I keep telling myself that it’s good to see what I don’t want, but I find myself questioning why I’m even doing this in the first place.

Part 3… coming up… more dates… more frustration…

 

Photo Credit: giftsandfreeadvice.com
Blog song title: same as the last one…

About Quincey Trigillo

A little over three years ago, I moved from the confines of Orange County, California to take a bite out of the Big Apple. Every day is an adventure and this is where I will attempt to write about it all. I love sports and Star Wars and Doctor Who and rock music and New York and traveling and being outdoors... and other stuff. View all posts by Quincey Trigillo

Leave a Reply

