Tonight… we are young…

There’s this trend going around with the young’uns… #YOLO… translated for the old folk that’s “You Only Live Once.” It’s the “Carpe Diem” of today. My Facebook newsfeed is filled with pictures of college kids going on random road trips or to parties with this hashtag in the caption. At first I thought that this was a really good way to rationalize making bad decisions. But then I think of how I have spent a lot of years NOT living… and maybe there is something to this YOLO…

I crave adventure. It’s really easy for me to get stuck in a rut and routine. But I like doing new and different things (hence the uprooting and relocation to a city 3000 miles away from everything safe). I thrive in situations where my comfort zone is compromised. In the last couple of weeks I have stayed out all night more than once. I didn’t always make the best decisions and more than once I ended up so hungover that I was completely useless for the subsequent 24 hours.But I’ve met new people, been to new places… I’ve broken the routine.

I get easily caught up in the moment. It doesn’t take much for me to agree to go along with something (relax, Mom, I mean this within reason – I would never do something I don’t WANT to do). It’s exciting – just going with the flow. I could say no and go home, but then I wouldn’t get to sing karaoke (if you’ve spent any amount of time with me, you know what happens to me when you put a mic in my hand) until it’s light outside and walk to the subway to go home while everyone else is going to work. Or I wouldn’t meet new and interesting people from different places who tell me about why they have their name tattooed on their forearm (and I thought my “Q” was bad) or that they are wearing a $1500 jacket (why would you tell a stranger that??) or that they are a freelance photographer for international editions of Vogue.

I’m not planning on making this a habit… my recovery time after staying out all night is not quite what it once was (and eventually I will have a “normal” job and will need to sleep during “normal” hours). But I don’t plan on making any night typical. And really, this city is anything but typical. I want as many new and different experiences as I can get. Isn’t this why I came here?

 

Photo credit: someecards.com
Blog title song: “We Are Young” by Fun.

About Quincey Trigillo

A little over three years ago, I moved from the confines of Orange County, California to take a bite out of the Big Apple. Every day is an adventure and this is where I will attempt to write about it all. I love sports and Star Wars and Doctor Who and rock music and New York and traveling and being outdoors... and other stuff. View all posts by Quincey Trigillo

One response to “Tonight… we are young…

Leave a Reply

