The youth is starting to change…

Fabulous news… I finally got an apartment in NYC! I move in the first weekend of December and I’m ridiculously excited… obviously. Phase one – complete.

While in town to finalize the details on the apartment, I met up with a young friend of mine who shall remain nameless. This young man has been living in the city for a while and truly lives that “hustle” lifestyle- waiting tables, auditioning… trying to “make it.” However, lately he’s had a more difficult go and is contemplating heading back home.

I was shocked when he said this. At the tender age of 21, he’s already defeated? Total bullshit. And as our conversation continued, we were coming up with more stories of people in their super early 20s who tried making it here for a very short time and gave up. Bullshit again.

Youth is truly wasted on the young. What I wouldn’t give to have 10 years back and do what I’m doing with the innocence and freshness of a 22 year old. But that’s when I realized something. That’s the huge difference… the innocence. Not that I led a crazy life in my 20s, but I went through a bunch of shit… I learned a lot… I struggled (I still do)… I persisted. These young’ns don’t have the benefit of experience. They are faced with challenges and do not have the experience to guide them through. (And by saying this, I am aware that the generation ahead of me is giving me a big old DUH… but care not I… this is MY observation).

I really don’t blame the kiddies though… When I was in my early 20s, I didn’t have the balls to do something completely different like move across the country from everything familiar to me and pursue a dream/career/life. I imagine that if had managed to leave Southern California when I was 21-22, I wouldn’t have lasted long. So I guess I get it.

And don’t get me wrong… my intent is not to offend those in their 20s, nor am I claiming that I know everything. But I did realize that perhaps for once, my life experiences are paying off. I am feeling more comfortable at my age. I’ve found the balls I need to do this (shut it) and every minute I spend in that city, I’m renewed and encouraged and I can’t wait to see what’s going to come at me next.

 

Blog title song: “The Youth” by MGMT

About Quincey Trigillo

A little over three years ago, I moved from the confines of Orange County, California to take a bite out of the Big Apple. Every day is an adventure and this is where I will attempt to write about it all. I love sports and Star Wars and Doctor Who and rock music and New York and traveling and being outdoors... and other stuff. View all posts by Quincey Trigillo

Leave a Reply

